• Stay connected


  • Finalists for 2018 Whistler Independent Book Awards

    Our congratulations to the authors who have been selected as finalists for the 2018 Whistler Independent Book Awards.

    The fiction finalists are:

    T.G. Brown for Harvest (A Josh Ingram Novel)
    Laurel Deedrick-Mayne for A Wake for the Dreamland
    Emma L.R. Hogg for Winona Rising
    Mike Sadava for The Project

    The non-fiction finalists are:

    Mark Cote for That Lucky Old Son
    Louise Szabo, Barbara Brown, Jan Jacobson & Wendy Quarry for
    Travel Dreams and Nightmares – Four Women Explore the World
    Toko-pa Turner for Belonging: Remembering Ourselves Home

    The winner in each category will be jointly selected by two judges, both accomplished authors. Judging the fiction category are Gail Anderson-Dargatz and Darcie Friesen Hossack. The non-fiction selection will be made by J.J. Lee and Susan Oakey-Baker. 

    Finalists were selected by representatives of  Vivalogue Author Services and members of the Canadian Authors Association (Metro Vancouver)

    The judges were impressed with both the quality and variety of submissions received from across the country. Particularly stiff competition in the fiction category led to the nomination of four titles, a first for the awards.

    Winners will be announced at the 17th Whistler Writers Festival, 11-14 October.