• Stay connected


  • Whistler Independent Book Awards 2020 Shortlist Announced

    WIBA-badge-logoPandemics, lockdowns and novel coronaviruses did not stop self-published authors from around the country submitting their books to the Whistler Independent Book Awards. The evaluating committee assessed all the entries and is pleased to announce the shortlisted nominees for the 2020 WIBAs.



    The fiction nominees are:

    Jennifer Rouse Barbeau for Dying Hour
    Roy Blomstrom for Silences
    R.E. Donald for Yellowhead Blues
    C.V. Gauthier for Charlee LeBeau & The Gambler’s Promise 
    Laurel Mae Hislop for F-Holes of Melancholia
    Tanya Lee for The Wolf and the Rain

    The non-fiction nominees are:

    Anna Byrne for Seven Year Summer
    Bruno Huber for Folly Bistro
    Lindy Hughes for The Common Wife
    Stephanie Hrehirchuk  for An Accidental Awakening
    Laesa Faith Kim for Can’t Breathe
    Mary O’Sullivan for Lazarus Heart

    The shortlisted nominees will be judged by Canadian Authors members and the finalists will be announced July 16, 2020. The finalist judges are: Gail Anderson-Dargatz, Darcie Friesen Hossack, J.J. Lee and Susan Oakey-Baker.