WIBA 2018 Shortlist Announced

The entries for this year’s Whistler Independent Book Awards were of a high standard, their quality reflecting the professionalism of Canadian self-published authors. The competition in the fiction category was particularly strong, and selecting the nominees was a challenge for the evaluation committee. Our congratulations to the authors whose books have been shortlisted for the 2018 Whistler Independent Book Awards.

Whistler Independent Book Awards 2018

Shortlist for the 2018 WIBAs in Fiction and Non-fiction

The fiction nominees are:

T.G. Brown for Harvest 
Norm Cuddy for Return of the Jaguar
Laurel Deedrick-Mayne for A Wake for the Dreamland
Jane Doucet for The Pregnant Pause 
Barry Grills for Roadkill
Emma L.R. Hogg for Winona Rising
Andrew Lafleche for A Pardonable Offence
Mike Sadava for The Project

The non-fiction nominees are:

Rod Baker for Constant Traveller R801168
Mark Cote for That Lucky Old Son
Patricia Hetherington for Under the Covers
Andrew Lafleche for No Diplomacy
Louise Szabo, Barbara Brown, Jan Jacobson & Wendy Quarry for
Travel Dreams and Nightmares
Toko-pa Turner for Belonging: Remembering Ourselves Home

Whistler Writers Festival

Finalists judges:

  • Gail Anderson-Dargatz
  • Darcie Friesen Hossack
  • J.J. Lee
  • Susan Oakey-Baker

The shortlisted nominees will be judged by Canadian Authors-Metro Vancouver members and the finalists will be announced July 16, 2018.

Every book submitted was professionally read and reviewed. Authors not shortlisted will receive their evaluations by June 18, 2018. Evaluations were done by Vivalogue Publishing.

The Whistler Independent Book Awards provide independently published authors with a unique opportunity to have their work recognized through a juried process.

Winners will be announced at the 17th Whistler Writers Festival, 11-14 October, 2018.