• Stay connected


  • Whistler Independent Book Awards Nominees Announced

    quills for choosingNominees for the longlist of the Whistler Independent Book Awards were announced today by the award organizers, the Whistler Writing Society and Vivalogue Publishing. Titles have been nominated in four categories – fiction, non-fiction, crime fiction and poetry – and the full list is printed below. Submissions closed on June 6, and the longlisting committee has been evaluating entries since the awards were launched in March.

    “We were very pleased by the number of quality titles entered. As established supporters of independent authors, we were proud to be able to forward such well written, well produced books to the Vancouver Branch of the Canadian Authors Association, who will be selecting the finalists,” said committee chair, Lynn Duncan. Authors from all across Canada, including BC, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario and Nova Scotia, are on the longlist, making the awards a genuinely national affair. “Because of the high quality of a number of entries not longlisted, we have decided to award WIBA Honourable Mentions to those books we assessed as having significant merit,” explained Lynn.

    These prestigious, rigorously judged awards have been established to recognize excellence in self-publishing and are open to Canadian authors or permanent residents who have independently published a book or books in the last five years. The three finalists in each category will be announced on July 18, and the shortlist will be judged by a panel including a respected Canadian author or poet and an appointee of the Whistler Writing Society.

    Judging the Fiction category will be author and translator Genni Gunn, whose most recent novel, Solitaria, was nominated for the 2011 Giller Prize. J.J. Lee, whose debut book, The Measure of a Man, was a finalist for the Governor General’s Literary Award, will judge the Non-Fiction category. Crime novelist, journalist and publisher Linda L. Richards will judge the Crime Fiction category, while former Vancouver Poet Laureate Evelyn Lau will judge the Poetry category.

    The winners will be announced at this year’s Whistler Writers Festival (October 13–16) at the Literary Cabaret gala evening on October 14. There is a prize of $500 for each winner, with $250 for each finalist. Additional benefits include author participation at the Festival and the opportunity to pitch their winning works to publishers and agents attending the event.

    Full list of nominees and honourable mentions:


    Alexander, Mark – Danny, What Are You Doing?
    Barclay, Byrna – The House of the White Elephant
    Barker, Donna – Mother Theresa’s Advice for Jilted Lovers
    Bishop, Ev – Bigger Things
    ​Cameron, Mark - Goodnight Sunshine
    Curran, Kath – Before It Was Easy
    Duffy, Ron – Crossed Lives
    Gale, Shawn – The Stories That Make Us
    Hislop, Laurel – Chitchat
    Shepard, Caroline – Unlit Spaces


    Bendall, Pamela Roy – What Was I Thinking? Adventures of a Woman Sailing Solo 
    Campbell, Miji – Separation Anxiety: A Coming-of-Middle-Age Story
    Clews, Graham – The Sound of Silence
    Hill, Leslie – Dressed for Dancing: My Sojourn in the Findhorn Foundation
    Layton, Monique – The New Arcadia: Tahiti’s Cursed Myth
    Loney, Bretton – Rebel with a Cause: The Doc Nikaido Story
    Service, Dawn – The Cabin: A Misanthropic Journal
    Veldhuis, Oriole – For Elise: Unveiling the Forgotten Woman on the Criddle Homestead
    Williams, Megan – Our Interrupted Fairytale
    Ziegler, Maggie – The Road to Keringet


    Bailey, D.F. – Bone Maker
    Brown, T.G. – O’Henry
    Donald, Ruth – Sundown on Top of the World
    Fostaty, Gerry – Stage Business
    Wong, S.G. – In for a Pound


    Barkley, Gloria – Water Window Mirror
    Braun, Connie – Unspoken: An Inheritance of Words
    Knight, Rosalind – Songs of Zambia
    Sobat, Gail – How the Light Is Spent
    Swede, George – Micro Haiku: Three to Nine Syllables
    Woodland, Alan – Out of the Mist


    Amodeo, Merle – After Love
    Ashe, Carol – Out of the Storm
    Blomfield, Sharon – The Sifnos Chronicles: Tales from a Greek Isle
    Burnell, David E. - In Moonlight’s Shadow
    Cascioli, Lucia – Letters to the Grave
    C., Joe – Beyond Belief: Agnostic Musings for a 12-Step Life
    Druehl, Louis -Cedar, Salmon and Weed
    Duffy, Ron – O’Hanlon
    Engleson, Bill – Like a Child to Home
    Ghulam, Elen – Graffiti Hack
    Glover, William A. – Tales of a Mad Miner
    Hancock, Lyn – The Ring: Memories of a Metis Grandmother
    Kenyon, Anthony – The Recorded History of the Liard Basin 1790-1910
    Marshall, Clare – The Violet Fox
    McLean, J.P. – The Gift: Awakening
    McWilliams, James L. – A Secret of the Sphinx
    Pool, Annalies - Free Love
    Stange, Ken – Going Home: Cycling through the Heart of America
    Suelo, Del – I Am Free
    Swede, George – Embryo: Eye Poems
    Tasi, Mary & Baker Wade – The Hidden Journals: Captain Vancouver & His Mapmaker

    Tracz, Orysia – First Star I See Tonight

    Media Inquiries About the Awards: Contact Lynn Duncan, lynn@vivalogue.com or 604-522-6222

    Media Inquiries About the Whistler Writers Festival: Contact Stella Harvey stella25@telus.net

    About the Whistler Writers Festival: Now in its 15th year, the Whistler Writers Festival has hosted more than 100 leading Canadian authors. This year, the event runs from October 13 – 16. The Festival is organized by the Whistler Writing Society, which also sponsors a Writer in Residence and Authors in Schools program.

    About Vivalogue Publishing: Vivalogue offers comprehensive print and online publishing and editorial services for individuals, businesses and non-profit organizations. In addition to its work with independent authors, Vivalogue partnered with Heritage House Publishing to create a new young adult imprint, Wandering Fox Books.